ANNOUNCEMENT

The 5th Chamber of Tax Consultants National Moot Court Competition, 2022.

The Government Law College, Mumbai is pleased to announce the Fifth Edition of The Chamber of Tax Consultants National Moot Court Competition, 2022.

• ABOUT THE ORGANISERS:

In light of celebrating its 90th Anniversary, the Chamber had introduced the National Tax Moot Court Competition in 2017 with the support of the Government Law College, Mumbai. This year marks the Fifth Edition of the National Tax Moot Court Competition.

The Government Law College, established in 1855 is the oldest law colleges in Asia, a pioneer in legal education - an institution par excellence. The generations of legal luminaries who have been nurtured by this unique institution have made a seminal contribution to the evolution of the Indian Legal System. Dr. Dinshaw Mulla, Mr. A. A. A. Fyzee and Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar have all been the principals of this venerated institution. The first Chief Justice of India, Hon'ble Mr. Harilal Kania was an alumnus of this college. Former Hon'ble Chief Justices of India - Mr. M. H. Kania, Mr. P. N. Bhagwati and Mr. S. P. Bharucha all began their careers at GLC. The Hon'ble President of India – Her Excellency Ms. Pratibha Patil, the Chief Justice of India - Hon'ble Mr. Justice S.H. Kapadia, Mr. Soli Sorabjee, Mr. Fali Nariman, Mr. Anil Divan, Mr. T. R. Andhyarujina and Mr. Goolam Vahanvati have all been students of this very institution.

The Chamber of Tax Consultants (CTC) Mumbai is a non-profit organization established in the year 1926. The organization was formed to serve the object of educating and creating awareness among its members in the field of Direct Tax, Indirect Tax, Allied Laws, Corporate Laws, and International Tax etc. It has robust membership strength of about 3600 professionals, comprising of Chartered

Accountants, Advocates, Tax Practitioners, Company Secretaries, Corporates and students. The Chamber is very active in making effective representations before Regulatory Authorities and is also instrumental in filing Public Interest Litigations.

• FORMAT OF THE MOOT:

Maximum of 16 teams shall participate and the registrations shall be accepted on first-come first-serve basis. The competition will be conducted in a hybrid mode. The Prelim and Quarter Final rounds will be held online on 5th June, 2022 and the Semifinals and Finals will be held offline on 18th June, 2022 in Mumbai. The said Rounds shall be judged by members of the tax fraternity, Hon'ble Members of the ITAT and the Hon'ble Judges of the High Court. There shall be prizes for the Winning Team, Runner up Team, Best Speaker, Runner up Speaker and Best Memorial.

• ABOUT THE MOOT PROBLEM:

This year, the Moot Proposition shall be based on Income Tax Act, 1961.

• THE MOOT SCHEDULE:

Release of Moot: 5th April, 2022.

Last date for registration for the competition: 15th April, 2022.

Last date for clarifications: 20th April, 2022.

Last date of submission of soft copies of Memorials: 15th May, 2022. Last date of submission of hard copies of Memorials: 12th June, 2022.

Preliminary and Quarter-final Rounds (Online): 5th June, 2022.

Semi-final and Final Rounds (Offline): 18th June, 2022.

• REGISTRATION:

All the teams shall provisionally register by sending a mail to taxmootgle@gmail.com. Participants are required to fill the attached Google Form,

<u>https://forms.gle/TZ2fet38UgkKLSy76</u> in order to complete the final registration.

Registration fees for teams shall be Rs. 2,000/-

Accommodation shall be provided only to teams qualifying for the Semi-final and Final rounds

Payment is to be made in the favour of "The Chamber of Tax Consultants" via NEFT.

ELIGIBILITY:

All students of any recognized law colleges of the country can participate. Each team shall comprise of three students- two speakers and one researcher.

• CONTACT:

Please note that the last date for registration of the competition is 15th April, 2022 Kindly refer to The Chamber of Tax Consultants website www.ctconline.org and www.lawctopus.com for Rules of the Moot Court Competition, Moot Problem, etc.

CONTACT NUMBERS

Ms. Drishti Patrawala: (+91) 9820496388

Mr. Agastya Vijayaraghavan: (+91) 7021137909